2015.5 Goals Update

by prototypemmeh

Now, the .5 is for “half”, not for the month it is published in, just thought I would clear that up.

Back to the goals!

Still to-do/long-term from 2014:

  • earn my purple belt in BJJ
  • research the time and cost for becoming a Registered Massage Therapist (to supplement BA and MA)
  • re-start my running exercise, re-time my 1-mile, 5k, and 10k times
  • improve upon my 1-mile, 5k, and 10k times

New short- and long-term for 2015 and beyond:

  • earn my diploma in Sport Science
  • enter the Bachelor of Physical Education and Coaching program
  • graduate with my Bachelor’s degree

Because bullet points tend to mess with me in terms of getting the format correct, I will simply make each one a new heading and list the updates below!

1. Earn my diploma in Sport Science: my original plan was to get an interdisciplinary diploma, as the requirements were broad and forgiving.  But given the courses I have taken, I am two courses away from completing the Kinesiology specialization.  Those two remaining courses are required for my BPEC graduation as well, so it is a Win-Win situation.

2. Enter the Bachelor of Physical Education and Coaching program: the BPEC program accepts applications in the beginning of each year for the fall semester.  Deadline application is April 1st, with some applicants being accepted as early as March 1st.  Conditional acceptances are given as well, which is what I received.  The conditions were:

  • Program deposit paid by April 6 2015 (Completed)
  • Background check paid and submitted by April 15 2015 (Completed)
  • BIOL 1109 Human Anatomy & Physiology I completed with a minimum of C-, final grade to be submitted by April 30 2015 (Completed)
  • BIOL 1209 Human Anatomy & Physiology II completed with a minimum of C-, final grade to be submitted by December 19 2015 (Pending)

3. Graduate with my Bachelor’s degree: this goal will be two more years or so, depending on if I can get into certain courses and successfully complete them on the first try.  I don’t anticipate a lot of problems – at least, no problems that can’t be solved with proper studying.

Now let us readjust those goals.

Short- and long-term for 2015 and beyond:

  • earn my purple, brown, and black belts in BJJ
  • research the time and cost for becoming a Registered Massage Therapist (to supplement BA and MA)
  • re-start my running exercise, re-time my 1-mile, 5k, and 10k times
  • improve upon my 1-mile, 5k, and 10k times
  • earn my Sport Science diploma, Kinesiology specialization
  • enter the Bachelor of Physical Education and Coaching program
  • graduate with my Bachelor’s degree

New for 2015 and beyond:

  • research institutes for Master’s degrees in Science of Kinesiology or Sport Psychology
  • continue coaching the NWSS Hyacks
  • complete rough draft of paper on BJJ for peer review and editing

Yes, it seems as though I am merely adding more goals without striking any off, but I am also painting these goals in broad strokes.  I have a running list of courses that I have taken followed by the courses I have yet to take.  It helps me stay organized and provides some direction when it comes time for course registration.  I may upload it as a progress report, currently it is on paper so I can better manage it and myself.

Do you have any updates on your goals?  Any new ones set?  Comment below!

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?
Respect the Technique, Triangle Army