Proving Grounds

by prototypemmeh

I must say that my choice of tournaments thus far in 2015 has been a little more unusual compared to my standard resume.  While I have been to only two this year, they have both been Submission Only tournaments, and one of them a Round Robin format.

A year ago I competed in the Proving Grounds Qualifier II in Bellevue WA, and had a lot of fun.  I was looking forward to making my return to Washington, and to a bigger venue.  The drive down was great, quick border crossing, easy traffic, and no construction to delay things or re-route me.

Unfortunately, my first match started with my opponent trying a flying triangle.  I blocked it enough that his legs couldn’t lock up around me, but he still had a good collar grip.  We went down to the mat, and the referee ruled it as a slam and DQ’d me.  My opponent argued against the call, and managed to give the choice to my remaining four opponents.  Two of them took the easy win points, and two of them opted to let me on the mats with them.

I’m already three matches down at this point, with a score of 0 versus three of my opponents with a score of 3.  It would take everyone else going to a draw and me winning both matches in order to get a podium spot, but I only managed to get one win.  I will say that my back-take is superior to what I saw that day, the Cobrinha lockdown is an amazing tool to get the superior position and then work on the submission.  I pulled off a modified bow-and-arrow – essentially a very lazy lapel choke – that Coach Jordan showed me the night before.  My other match I managed to take the back, but not soon enough and it went to a draw.

Thus I finished with 4 points to my name; a win, a draw, and three losses that shouldn’t have happened.  My late rally wasn’t enough to get me on the podium, leaving me feel disappointed and a touch betrayed.

There is a lot more that I want to work on and become proficient at, but I may be competing in too many tournaments and thus not giving myself the chance to let the new techniques become muscle memory.  The priority now is taking the time to seal up the holes in my game.  I might start a big flow-chart to help keep me organized.  I’ve found that putting things on paper keeps it from getting too overwhelming.

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?
Respect the Technique, Triangle Army

