2016 Goals!

by prototypemmeh

We can chalk this up to the New Year, or perhaps just as another 6-month check-in.  Either way, G-G-G-Goals!

Let’s recap years previous:

  • earn my purple, brown, and black belts in BJJ
  • research the time and cost for becoming a Registered Massage Therapist (to supplement BA and MA)
  • re-start my running exercise, re-time my 1-mile, 5k, and 10k times
  • improve upon my 1-mile, 5k, and 10k times
  • earn my Sport Science diploma, Kinesiology specialization
  • enter the Bachelor of Physical Education and Coaching program
  • graduate with my Bachelor’s degree
  • research institutes for Master’s degrees in Science of Kinesiology or Sport Psychology
  • continue coaching the NWSS Hyacks
  • complete rough draft of paper on BJJ for peer review and editing

What have I accomplished?  Well ..

Continue coaching the Hyacks: this season I have embraced more of my role as assistant coach.  Whether it’s tournament prep, getting the team to and from mini-meets or tournaments, or making sure they get a proper warm-up and cool-down, I try to stay on the ball.  I’m ready to take this to the next level.

Research institutes for Master’s degrees: I managed this in late-August, looking at the U of A and University of Calgary as somewhere closer than Ontario or Quebec.  I still have a bit more research to do, and a few other factors to consider now.  This is where it gets fun and interesting.

Enter the BPEC program: as you may remember, I had received a conditional acceptance pending a few things.  Well, I have passed both levels of Anatomy & Physiology, so I do believe I have earned a seat in this Bachelor’s program.  Haha!

It feels good to accomplish some of those goals, and I have a few to be re-worked to suit my current lifestyle.  Let’s see what is being altered:

Resume running: I might never give up the desire to start running again, but in terms of what I need and have time for, this is going to change to Learn how to skip rope.

Improve upon old running times: this will similarly change, and become Improve skip rope time and intensity.

Now let’s put it all back together!

Goals for 2016 and beyond!

  • earn my purple, brown, and black belts in BJJ
  • research the time and cost for becoming a Registered Massage Therapist (to supplement BA and MA)
  • earn my Sport Science diploma, Kinesiology specialization
  • obtain my PDP from SFU
  • graduate from the BPEC program
  • continue coaching the NWSS Hyacks
  • complete rough draft of paper on BJJ for peer review and editing
  • learn how to properly skip rope for cardio
  • improve skip rope technique and increase intensity

So … anyone know how to skip rope and is willing to teach someone with two left feet?  While you’re here, why don’t you comment with some of your goals, old or new?

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?
Respect the Technique, Triangle Army

