Katana BJJ Roots Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Challenge III

by prototypemmeh

Saturday August 8th was the 3rd Roots BJJ Challenge, hosted by Katana BJJ.  Originally I wasn’t going to compete, deciding that I wanted to work my game a little more between tournaments.  They changed venues, from the Fridge Gymnasium to the Richmond Olympic Oval.  This move immediately solved the parking issues, even if it did mean paying about $1/hour.  The space inside meant they could run four mats instead of their usual three, and they had a good sized bull-pen area and a clear entrance/exit for the paramedic.

I volunteered for most of the day, being the scorekeeper  for Mat 4.  I got to see a few great matches and watch some teammates and friends compete right in front of me, which is always a bonus of being front row.  I also decide to compete, joining my usual Master’s 1 Middleweight division.  I was a comfortable and relaxed 168 pounds with my gi on, and the third man in my three-man bracket.  Yo Sik and Joshua went first, with Joshua falling prey to a triangle/armbar combination.  After they rested, I faced Joshua and won 10-0 after trying and failing to secure two submission attempts on him.  After another rest, I faced Yo Sik in the Gold medal match, and got myself on the scoreboard thanks to a great single-leg that led to a scramble which ended with the 4-point rear-mount secured. Yo Sik managed to slip out before I could go for any submission, and I stopped his great scrambles and kept him off of the scoreboard.

I had fun in both matches, and so did my opponents.  As it turned out, it was Joshua’s first ever competition, and I’m certain that he took the experience well and will be a force to be reckoned with soon enough.

My cousin Courtenay managed to make it out to watch me compete and record my matches, and she had a lot of fun.  I want to sit down with her and provide some commentary on the positions, scoring, and why we do the things we do.

Maybe the key to success for me is zero prep for two weeks, just something to consider.  For now, back to the academy to train!

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?
Respect the Technique, Triangle Army

