Bugs are assholes

by prototypemmeh

Over the past few years, I have noticed that my reactions to bug bites have grown stronger.  The area around the bite grows splotchy, which tends to hide exactly where I was bitten.  After a week or so, the bite and surrounding area would recede and heal.  I thought it might have been some of my genetics coming to the forefront, my mom generally has the same reaction from bug bites.  But a few of my coworkers mentioned similar growing reactions, leading me to believe it wasn’t just an increase in sensitivity.

And now, over the past couple of weeks, I have sustained multiple bites.  Not only are they itchy and splotchy, but now they’re swelling.  Most recently, a mosquito bit me on my ankle.  Within 24 hours, it looked as though I had rolled my ankle very badly; it swelled a lot, and looked very bruised.  The swelling has gone down a bit, in part thanks to a topical Benadryl treatment, and in part since the excess fluid is moving elsewhere due to gravity.  But it still looks like I snapped a tendon with the size and rich colour of the bruise.

I’ve purchased a bug-repellent in the form of a lotion, allowing me to apply it without losing a lot to the air or inhaling it.  But does anyone get the sense that bugs are becoming bigger assholes?  Maybe it’s the chemicals we’re using to prevent bites from bugs carrying West Nile and other malicious things, or maybe I haven’t put enough points into poison immunity; either way I’m not happy with the reaction my body is having to them.

Anyone have any similar growing concerns?

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?
Respect the Technique, Triangle Army

