Review: Triangle Athletics Shorts and Rash-guard

by prototypemmeh

My first care package from Triangle Athletics was some No-Gi gear: a pair of board shorts and a long-sleeved rash-guard.

Let’s start with the Shorts:

  • Side slits for movement and performance.
  •  Velcro waist band with drawstrings.
  •  100% polyester micro stretch fabric.
  • Full sublimation

I’ve worn quite a few brands of shorts in my day, for wrestling and for No-Gi.  I like my shorts to be light and comfortable, with a waistband that flows with my movements. Well these shorts are quite possibly the best I’ve worn.  The micro stretch fabric is soft, comfortable, and light.  I barely noticed anything during my No-Gi matches.

Now the Rash guard:

  • Long-sleeved
  • Full sublimation
  • Elastic waist

I’ve only used one other long-sleeved rash-guard prior, so I’m more familiar with the short-sleeved versions.  However, what I do know is the cut of this rash-guard allows for quick and easy adjustments of the sleeves to straighten them if required.  The rest requires very little adjustment after the fact as it moves with the body.

I don’t do a whole lot of No-Gi training, and yet I enter the No-Gi divisions in tournaments.  These shorts and rash-guard were put into the line of fire almost immediately: two No-Gi rounds at the academy and then three matches at a tournament for a podium finish.  Now I have a hankering to use them all the time, and I have the perfect solution: I’m volunteering at a local high school to help their wrestling program.  Their coach is one of my college professors, so I can help the students out in style!

Check the gear out at Triangle Athletics, and decide on your colours!
BCProv2_Dec_2014_TARS_01BCProv2_Dec_2014_TARS_02 20141206_160538–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?
Respect the Technique, Triangle Army

