CBJJF B.C. Provincial BJJ Championships

by prototypemmeh

Saturday was the B.C. Provincial BJJ Championships II, presented by the CBJJF, hosted at UBC War Memorial Gym.  It was a bit more to travel for a local tournament, but oh well.  I competed in Gi and No-Gi at the Master’s 1 division, Middleweight for Gi, and Lightweight for No-Gi.  The divisions were small yet tough.  Genesis had a large crew competing all across the board, necessitating someone there to coach from 9AM until 5PM.20141206_133348

My Gi division was originally a 4-man bracket, but we added a fifth.  And then along the way we lost a man, and went back down to a 4-man.  I lost both my matches, first one on points to the eventual Gold-medal winner, and the second via triangle choke.  I haven’t reviewed my match videos yet, but I know my big mistake on my second match, and that won’t happen again.  I believe the winner of our bracket also placed on the podium at the recent World Masters.

My No-Gi division was a 3-man bracket, including Matt Gri whom I faced at the Vancouver BJJ Championships in October.  I went first against Chris Nan, and lost on points.  Then I faced Matt and won on points, forcing a re-match with Chris for Gold.  For whatever reason, I screwed up my arm-bar defence by standing and gave up the tap to take silver.20141206_160423Other than my silly mistakes – one of which has been immediately corrected, the other which just needs a tad more reinforcing apparently – I had a good time implementing my revised game plan, and the pressuring game worked well.  Especially in my No-Gi match against Matt, I shortened my scrambles in order to lock down a position from which I could work from.  I even managed a single-leg-to-inside-trip take-down, it just happened outside of our out-of-bounds line.  The only other problem was technology: recording several matches and taking podium pictures nearly killed the batteries on my phone and Keri’s phone.  That means that I wasn’t able to get video of my No-Gi matches unfortunately.

I’m proud to represent my Genesis family and crew at the tournament, and my Triangle Athletics family.  Big thanks to Keri for her continued support, and everyone who came out to support the team on a rainy Saturday.

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?
Respect the Technique, Triangle Army.

