Flesh kneading

by prototypemmeh

I swear I’m trying to come up with awkward horrible titles …

But!  Massages.

They are nice.  I like them.

The end.

Nah, just kidding.  Well, I do like them, that’s not a lie.  Training and competing in a martial art like Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu means I come home with a few knots or tight muscle groups.  You can also throw in the tension in the neck and shoulders that develops from studying and completing assignments for school.  All of that simply means that a massage feels wonderful.  Very wonderful.

The neck, shoulders, and back are the typical areas I get massaged, followed by my hands, my scalp, or my legs.  I get my feet massaged every once in a while, and when I do, it also feels fantastic.  There’s something about the unknown factor of how the masseuse will work out the knots and tension spots that makes it superior.  Sure, when you work out your own knots you know exactly where they are and how much pressure to use, but it’s not the same.

I’m not the only one getting massages, I also give.  There’s something about finding a trouble spot and working it out, listening to the appreciative noises of the person getting the massage.

A couple of weeks ago I was chatting with a friend about the lower back and tension it can develop, heated seats, and reflexology.  Then we came to the point that Costco will occasionally have a proper folding massage table on sale.  A massage is great, but being on a proper table with a place for your head is even better, and not making your masseuse stay in awkward positions is a really big bonus.

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?

And in case you can’t tell, I kind of threw this together mostly spur-of-the-moment.

