Hard Facts

by prototypemmeh

I recently picked up a Polar Heart-rate monitor, for the express purpose of measuring my heart-rate during activities and rest.  I haven’t used it too much yet, but I have some good plans for it, some of them courtesy of my girl.

Let’s review what I have:
-Resting heart-rate: 52-58 bpm.
-Average work heart-rate: 75 bpm.
-Average stationary heart-rate: 62 bpm.
-Highest work heart-rate: 123 bpm.

It’s a bit difficult to measure my heart-rate during Jiu-Jitsu since the monitor straps to my chest and transmits to a watch.  Both would be difficult to wear while rolling.  Fortunately I have other activities I can wear it for.

An idea brought to my attention was pre- and post-match monitoring at a tournament.  It should help me fine-tune my breathing techniques.  Stemming from that, I had planned to wear it into a mid-term test, but completely forgot.  From what I could tell, my heart-rate didn’t increase massively, just a handful of beats.

More on this as it develops!

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?

