Tournament Prep: The Snacks

by prototypemmeh

A while ago, we talked about preparing for a tournament by having your competition wear up to code and having doubles.  This week I’ll go over the downtime between matches and what to do.

There are a lot of local tournaments in my area that offer a schedule of when your belt division will be up.  Take a look and base things off of that.  An example: for CBJJF tournaments, blue belts typically go first, called into the bullpen at 8:45AM and on the mats at 9AM.  With that in mind, I ingest a protein shake instead of solid food; it’s easier on the stomach and I don’t risk throwing up during my matches.

Between matches and divisions is the time to snack on some solid foods.  Depending on the size of the tournament, you could see a 90-minute wait between the regular division and the Absolute Open, and then another few hours until No-Gi starts, with yet another wait for the No-Gi Absolute.

Here are some light snack ideas that have been discovered:
-Red pepper slices.  They’re light and juicy, giving you some refreshing crunch.
-Bananas.  I prefer organic bananas since they don’t leave the horrible chemical aftertaste and cottonmouth.
-Honey.  Take this right before your match and wash down with water.
-Baby carrots.  A classic staple.

I’ve heard of some other methods, such as ingesting a single serve plain yogurt before eating anything to coat your stomach.
There are more ideas that I haven’t heard of or discovered yet, but at the end of the day, the choices are what works best for you and your body.

With these two Tournament Prep posts, I hope I’ve helped alleviate at least some concerns for your next or first tournament.

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?

