Upgrades

by prototypemmeh

Back in January I listed short and long term goals in my life.  You can read the post here.

I am happy and excited to announce that I have accomplished one of those goals!

Sunday July 14th at Genesis Martial Arts in Abbotsford, B.C., under Jason Gagnon via Cobrinha BJJ, I earned my Blue belt in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

IMG_2803

I am very happy, though it has yet to fully sink in.  The belt whipping was exceptionally fun, despite some great thwacks from my teammates.  The best part about this is I compete on July 20th in Kelowna in the CBJJF Okanagan Summer Classic alongside my cousin Mike from RDC Jiu-Jitsu.  I throw myself right into the deep end without pause, I’ve e-mailed the tournament coordinator to let him know my registration has been changed slightly.

IMG_2801

I congratulate all of my teammates who received stripes, belts, or just came out to celebrate our grand opening!  I’m truly honoured to have rolled with all of you, and I look forward to continuing learning alongside all of you.

OSS!

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?

