Oh the Olympics

by prototypemmeh

It’s not new news that Wrestling will not being the included in the Summer Olympics from 2020 and onwards.  Wrestling has – with the exception of the 1900 Summer games – been one of the core 25 sports in the Summer Olympics.
Wrestling was added in 708 B.C. alongside boxing and pankration.  Both sports are around today, but in a noticeable decline.

Wrestling is huge in schools around North America, at the Grade school and Collegiate level.  At Christmas last year I ran into someone I competed against when we were in Grade 9.  At that time I competed in the -50 kg division, and eked out a few 4th and 3rd place finishes in my one year of competitions.  I started my wrestling career in Grade 7 when our gym class had an 8-week wrestling program in place.  It continued until the end of Grade 9, where I unwisely stopped wrestling.  To this day I wish I had kept up with it until the end of High School.

But the reason why I’m posting about Olympic Wrestling now is because of this video:

Everything that is said in the video is something I agree with.  I – thankfully – never had to undergo weight cuts for any of my competitions, but having cut weight for a couple of BJJ tournaments, I understand a fraction of what Wrestlers subject themselves to.

Every child should learn the following skills at a young age: swimming, skating and wrestling.
From there they can choose to continue wrestling, or enroll in a martial art, or just leave it all behind.  But one day each person will look back on their time spent wrestling and smile at it and thank their parents for enrolling them in a wrestling program.

Should I have a child, he or she will be enrolled (with agreement from the mother of course) in those lessons until he or she decides what to do.  I didn’t enjoy swimming lessons, but I’m thankful for them.  I sucked at skating lessons as a child and went back as an adult to continue to learn.  I enjoyed wrestling at a young age, and wish to continue/relearn as an adult.  If Douglas or UFV has a wrestling program, I’ll join that, time permitting.

Once again, the video makes all the points that I would want to make, but the truest one of all is wrestlers don’t get paid.  There is no multi-fight contract with win bonuses like boxing or MMA, there is just the love of the sport and world-level competition of the Olympics.

Save Olympic Wrestling.  Save the future.

–Kiyoshi “The Prototype”
Your #1 Canadian eh?

