Lights, camera, elbow in the face!

by prototypemmeh

Near the end of November 2012, I assisted my friend James in a photoshoot he was doing for some of the fighters belonging to Echelon Fight Management.  In return he added me into the photoshoot line-up.  We did kickboxing, we did Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, we did MMA, we did profile shots, still shots, and action shots.

I sparred against Daniel McIver first in both BJJ and kickboxing.  My eye accidentally collided with his elbow during the BJJ portion, gracing me with a bruise and a bit of swelling.  I have no doubt that the gi saved me from bleeding.  In return, I gave him a bit of tag on the chin with a lovely roundhouse kick.  Every once in a while I remember how to kick properly and the result leans towards a KO.
DSC_2504_EDSC_2869_E

Next I would go through the kickboxing motions with Wael Gharieb, keeping things extremely light since he had a fight coming up the following week.  I’ll just say that it’s been a while since I’ve towered over and outweighed an opponent.  I did let a few through my guard, my punishment for getting cocky.
DSC_3056_E

Finally, there was Micah Brakefield, newly turned pro MMA fighter under the Battlefield Fight League banner.  We did some mitt drills and then moved onto MMA.  Even at half-speed, I was soundly trounced by Micah’s experience.  It was a great experience and lots of fun.
DSC_3301_EDSC_3320_EDSC_3447_E
DSC_3415_E

–Kiyoshi
Your #1 Canadian

